We display selected published manufacturer ranges. We do not generate a house-specific price, estimate your equipment size, or invent an equipment-and-labor split.
The cost references
The planner uses the AC examples in Trane’s public pricing guide, accessed October 15, 2026. Each range is attached to the specific product example in that source. These are manufacturer-specific national references, not a survey of all U.S. contractors or a statistical confidence interval.
The page describes equipment and basic installation before tax in its AC FAQ, while also excluding accessories and additional installation requirements. It is not a detailed bill of materials. Whether an indoor coil, furnace, air handler, permit or electrical change is included in your actual quote must be confirmed with the contractor.
We also reviewed Carrier’s pricing explanation. Its exclusions differ: a furnace, evaporator coil and duct modifications are outside the headline range. We use this source to explain scope differences, not to blend manufacturers into an unsupported average.
Questions about sizing, airflow, ducts and startup are supported by ENERGY STAR’s installation guidance. Generated questions are organizational aids, not findings about your home.
What the calculator actually calculates
- Cooling option: selecting a tier displays that tier’s published low and high values, unchanged.
- Not sure about the tier: we display every tier separately. The summary uses the smallest lower endpoint and largest upper endpoint across those examples. It is an envelope of the examples, not an average or probability range.
- System and scope: a central AC replacement that retains the furnace or air handler can display a planning reference. Heat pumps, outdoor-unit-only jobs, a full heating-and-cooling replacement, and an unclear scope get an explanation instead of a project total.
- Ducts and access: these selections generate questions and exclusions. They do not secretly multiply the source prices.
- Existing capacity: an optional project note. It does not size equipment or adjust the reference.
- Open budget items: the planner identifies unpriced or unconfirmed work for your selected scope. “Not priced” does not mean zero or included. Related reading and these questions are added to the downloaded plan.
In shorthand: selected reference = published tier range. If all tiers are selected: reference envelope = minimum low through maximum high. No invented adjustments are added.
What we don’t calculate
- Separate equipment and labor amounts: the source does not provide a consistent split.
- ZIP-level prices, local labor rates or regional multipliers.
- Extra indoor equipment, ductwork, difficult access, permits, taxes, accessories or electrical changes.
- Rebates, financing costs, guaranteed savings or energy payback.
- Equipment tonnage from your floor area. A professional load calculation is needed.
Missing prices mean not priced, not “free” or “included.” A contractor needs to evaluate the actual property, applicable requirements and equipment combination.
How the single-quote check and comparison work
The comparison tool organizes one or two proposals. The furnace checker starts in single-quote mode. It does not use the manufacturer price dataset to generate, adjust or judge either quote. A hypothetical example is clearly labeled, including in saved drafts and downloads; it is not a contractor bid or market sample.
- One-quote mode: model, AFUE, fuel and heating input gaps produce questions, together with unclear installation items and explicit exclusions. No second bid is assumed, no price difference is computed, and there is no pass/fail score. Furnace venting, combustion-air, gas-connection and safety-record questions are organizational prompts, not installation instructions. Sources include Carrier’s replacement overview and DOE’s combustion equipment overview.
- Scope first: different recorded systems, replacement scopes or explicit equipment conflicts generate a scope warning. Unknown scope stays unknown; aligned entries do not establish actual equivalence.
- Document gaps: “Not stated” and “Unclear” produce questions. They are not interpreted as exclusions or zero-dollar work. “Not applicable” requires the user's scope confirmation.
- Recorded differences: explicit statuses, equipment and terms are compared without deciding which contractor is better. SEER, SEER2, EER2 and HSPF2 are kept as different metrics; no efficiency or payback ranking is calculated.
- Listed price difference: when both totals are entered, B minus A is calculated in integer cents. A blank price stays blank, while zero is a valid entered amount. Tax bases, allowances and exclusions remain visible. Allowances are never automatically added to either total, and a difference is not labeled as savings.
- Questions and records: questions are grouped by contractor and deduplicated. Text exports retain the triggering rule, quote and field for review. They include all recorded details, not only differences. None of this verifies contract meaning, equipment compatibility or local requirements.
The USD input limit of $2,000,000 and text-length limits are input safeguards, not evidence of reasonable market pricing. Optional capacity and efficiency limits are also validation limits, not equipment-selection advice. No contractor quality score, margin estimate or household savings forecast is produced.
Processing stays in the browser. Saving is an explicit action, with a separate clear control and error feedback when storage is unavailable. See quote comparison privacy. Use the single-quote checker to follow up on one proposal at a time.
Review and corrections
Cost records include source URLs, the date we accessed them and a version identifier. An access date is not the source’s publication date. Where the publisher does not clearly state a publication date, we leave it unknown.
This version uses public manufacturer and government materials. It has not been independently reviewed by a licensed HVAC professional. The guides are project-authored educational material; no contractor credentials or expert review are claimed.
Before a price update, the source scope and endpoints should be checked again, the data version revised, and the calculation tests rerun. Prices can change between reviews. If a reference cannot be supported, it should be withdrawn until it can be checked. See the contact page for the current status of our correction channel.
Source register
- TraneHVAC Replacement Cost Guide ↗Accessed · manufacturer pricing · Publication date not stated
Manufacturer-specific national AC examples. The AC FAQ includes equipment and labor before tax; the page excludes accessories and additional installation requirements. Scope wording is not a detailed bill of materials. Confirm indoor coil, air handler, permits and electrical work with the contractor.
- U.S. Department of EnergyHVAC Proper Sizing of HVAC Systems ↗Accessed · technical guidance · Publication date not stated
Supports professional load calculations, including Manual J, rather than sizing equipment using floor area alone.
- ENERGY STARWhen is it time to replace? ↗Accessed · consumer guidance · Publication date not stated
Age, repeated repairs, energy use and comfort are reasons to evaluate the whole system. Age alone is not a diagnosis or automatic replacement requirement.
- ENERGY STARHVAC Quality Installation ↗Accessed · installation guidance · Publication date not stated
Consumer guidance on appropriate sizing, airflow, refrigerant charge and duct assessment. Used for installation questions, not dollar estimates or a claim of professional inspection.
- CarrierCentral Air Conditioner Prices ↗Accessed · manufacturer pricing context · Publication date not stated
The headline installation range explicitly excludes a furnace, evaporator coil and duct modifications. Used to explain scope differences, not averaged with Trane examples or used as an isolated condenser-only estimate.
- GoodmanHVAC Pricing Guide ↗Accessed · manufacturer guidance · Publication date not stated
Installed costs vary with the home, location, ducts and installation. An on-site assessment is needed for a project quote. No numerical prices from this source are used.
- Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI)Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps ↗Accessed · equipment certification guidance · Publication date not stated
Supports identifying certified indoor/outdoor combinations by reference number or certificate. Not evidence of installed workmanship. Legacy minimum-SEER and other dated assertions elsewhere on the page are not used.
- ENERGY STAR10 Tips for Hiring a Heating and Cooling Contractor ↗Accessed · contractor selection guidance · Publication date not stated
Supports checking applicable credentials, references, a home evaluation and written proposals. Does not establish local licensing rules or guarantee a contractor's quality. No savings claims copied.
- ENERGY STARHow Does a Heat Pump Work? ↗Accessed · heat pump fundamentals · Published 2024-02-02
Used for the heating/cooling heat-transfer explanation. Exact publication day is shown on the article. No cost-offset, universal savings or winter-capacity claims are adopted.
- ENERGY STARClean Heating and Cooling ↗Accessed · heat pump selection and installation guidance · Publication date not stated
Used for load assessment, ducts, cold-climate selection and dual-fuel scope. The page contains dated incentive text; tax-credit, rebate, cost-premium and savings claims are excluded.
- U.S. Department of EnergyPurchasing Energy-Efficient Residential Central Air Conditioners ↗Accessed · efficiency rating definitions · Publication date not stated
Used for the January 2023 testing change and definitions of SEER2 and HSPF2. FEMP procurement thresholds and modeled federal-facility savings are not household recommendations or forecasts.
- CarrierUnderstanding SEER Ratings: A Guide to SEER Meaning ↗Accessed · manufacturer efficiency explanation · Publication date not stated
Used for changed static-pressure testing, SEER2/EER2 distinctions and actual-savings limitations. Product recommendations, generalized regional minimums and numerical savings examples are not adopted.
- CarrierWhat is a Split HVAC System? Your Guide To Split AC Units ↗Accessed · cooling system fundamentals · Publication date not stated
Used only for indoor/outdoor split-system component roles. Manufacturer cost, efficiency, noise and payback claims are not generalized to all equipment.
- Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)Manual J Residential Load Calculation ↗Accessed · technical standard overview · Publication date not stated
Official overview of the residential load calculation standard. Used to distinguish heating/cooling loads from equipment selection and duct design. No claim that the site performs Manual J or interprets local code.
- Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)Manual S Residential Equipment Selection ↗Accessed · technical standard overview · Publication date not stated
Equipment selection uses load, design conditions and manufacturer performance data. Does not justify a rule-of-thumb tonnage recommendation or an unqualified universal sizing tolerance.
- Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA)Manual D Residential Duct Design ↗Accessed · technical standard overview · Publication date not stated
Official overview of residential duct design and airflow/duct/blower interactions. Used to distinguish duct design from Manual J load calculation.
- TraneUnderstanding HVAC Speeds and Stages ↗Accessed · manufacturer equipment guidance · Published 2026-06-17
Current manufacturer distinction among single-stage, two-stage, multi-speed and variable-speed compressors. Model-specific terms; no generic multi-speed/two-stage equivalence, universal capacity percentages, savings, or guaranteed humidity improvement used.
- TraneHVAC Warranty: Types, Terms, and What's Covered ↗Accessed · manufacturer warranty guidance · Publication date not stated
Distinguishes base/registered limited parts warranty and optional extended plans that may include labor. Model, registration, applicable jurisdiction and agreement control; no universal duration or free-repair promise.
- CarrierCarrier Warranty Registration and Information ↗Accessed · manufacturer warranty guidance · Publication date not stated
Current U.S. Consumer Choice program illustrates conditional parts versus parts/labor options, participating dealers, eligible replacement equipment, registration selection and jurisdictional exceptions. No Canada terms or universal coverage assumption used.
- TraneHow Do AC + Furnace Matched Systems Work? ↗Accessed · manufacturer system guidance · Publication date not stated
Explains furnace blower, thermostat and cooling equipment working as a system. Does not establish compatibility for any unreviewed model combination.
- TraneWhat Does AC Replacement Cost? ↗Accessed · manufacturer replacement guidance · Publication date not stated
Used only for the conditional possibility of retaining a relatively new compatible furnace while replacing outdoor AC and indoor coil. No prices from this separate page are incorporated into the calculator or averaged with its named product benchmarks.
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencyTechnology Transitions HFC Restrictions by Sector ↗Accessed · current federal regulatory overview · Publication date not stated
Page last updated August 28, 2026. Residential/light-commercial systems row and footnote 6 reflect the pre-January-2025 specified-component exception. Table is an overview, not compliance advice; distinguish Products manufacture/import rows, Systems installation rows and repair components.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency / Federal RegisterPhasedown of Hydrofluorocarbons: Reconsideration of Certain Regulatory Requirements Promulgated Under the Technology Transitions Provisions of the AIM Act ↗Accessed · federal final rule · Published 2026-05-26
Effective July 27, 2026. Amended 40 CFR 84.54(c)(1) removes the installation deadline for residential/light-commercial AC/heat-pump systems where all specified components were manufactured/imported before January 1, 2025. Also preserves treatment of specified components for existing-system servicing. Does not remove all HFC restrictions or supersede state/local requirements.
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencySubstitutes in Residential and Light Commercial Air Conditioning and Heat Pumps ↗Accessed · federal refrigerant acceptability guidance · Publication date not stated
Lists HFC-32 and R-454B as A2L refrigerants acceptable in new equipment subject to use conditions. Does not approve drop-in conversions, model combinations or technical servicing instructions. No GWP numerical comparison used because conventions vary by rule.
- U.S. Environmental Protection AgencyFrequent Questions on the Phasedown of Hydrofluorocarbons ↗Accessed · federal refrigerant safety guidance · Publication date not stated
Used ONLY for the warning against HFC-32 or R-454B in systems not designed for them. Several inventory/new-installation deadline answers remain stale relative to the May 2026 final rule and current sector table, so they are explicitly not used as current deadline authority.
- CarrierGas Furnace Replacement Guide ↗Accessed · manufacturer replacement guidance · Publication date not stated
Used for furnace-only compatibility and professional assessment, installation and handover scope. No prices, fixed lifetime, automatic replacement or savings claims adopted.
- CarrierAFUE (Annual Fuel Utilization Efficiency) ↗Accessed · manufacturer rating explanation · Publication date not stated
Seasonal fuel utilization definition and limits. No bill forecast, regional minimum standard, brand ranking or payback claim adopted.
- CarrierUpgrade To A High Efficiency Gas Furnace ↗Accessed · manufacturer installation guidance · Publication date not stated
Used for condensing furnace venting and condensate scope. Does not prescribe vent materials or routes, determine local compliance, adopt price ranges or guarantee savings.
- U.S. Department of Energy / Building Science EducationHVAC Direct Vent Equipment ↗Accessed · combustion equipment overview · Publication date not stated
Used for the distinction between combustion air intake and exhaust on direct-vent sealed-combustion equipment. Not a claim that AFUE alone defines a vent layout or that any installation is safe.
Commercial independence
The current calculator has no paid ranking or sponsored default. No affiliate referral, quote request or contact collection is active. Any future commercial integration must carry clear disclosure. Read the affiliate disclosure.